Products made from gluten-containing grain

Wheat, rye, barley, and oats form the base of many of the ingredients we find in processed food. For this reason, deglutenous thought it might be useful to share a quick rundown of which derivatives of gluten-containing grains are dangerous.

Gluten-containing grains

In their pure form, those on a gluten-free diet cannot eat;

  • Wheat
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Triticale (a hybrid of wheat and rye)
  • Oats (unless specified gluten-free)

Products made from gluten-containing grains

When the grain is processed we are left with the following forms, which still contain protein, therefore gluten and are not safe for those on a gluten-free diet;

Gluten-containing grains are manufactured into many other products, some gluten-free, some not
  • Flour
  • Starch
  • Thickener
  • Modified starch
  • Vegetable protein
  • Maltodextrin
  • Dextrin
  • Flavor
  • Malt
  • Malt extract

These products can also be made from many other crops; for example potatoes, rice or corn. In Australia, if an allergen is present it must be clearly stated on the label next to the ingredient which contains it. If a product contains starch produced from a gluten-containing grain it would have stated it in brackets after the ingredient. If one of the above ingredients is listed on a label but no source grain is mentioned it must be made from something other than gluten-containing grain.

Read our guide to reading labels for more information.

Gluten-containing grains are manufactured into many other products, some gluten-free, some not

Gluten-free derivatives

These are derivatives of gluten-containing grains but through processing, they no longer contain any protein, therefore are gluten-free and safe for those on a gluten-free diet (although we don’t encourage consuming large amounts);

  • Dextrose
  • Glucose
  • Glucose syrup
  • Caramel color
  • Colour (150)

Tip: Read our post on dextrose and glucose to see an example of determining when products containing the above are safe.